ADVERTISEMENT

What do you do?

MegaPoke

May 29, 2001
Tulsa
www.shipmanphotos.com
Simple question. I thing one of the benefits of a forum like this is networking. I'm constantly amazed at how through day to day conversation I come across people who are looking for what I do, or people who fill a solution for something I need.

So, simple paragraph. What do you do?

Also out of curiosity, do you do what you want to do? Do you believe in the American dream? Are you living it? Are you on track to live it?

Reactions: Marshal Jim Duncan
I am a cyber security analyst for a fortune 4 company with a focus on industrial control systems. I love what I do.

However, being a professional poker player or starting a micro brewery would be my true passion.

Desktop and SCCM Administrator for a large medical device manufacturer. I really enjoy what I do, however, I am hoping to migrate into a sysadmin or security role in the future.

The "American Dream" is a rubbish concept. You only hear about the few successes, but never hear about the hundreds of thousands of failures. More power to people who take the risks. I would've loved to have been a composer, but never played an instrument outside of goofing around. I loved musical history (mostly classical) and loved theory.

Banker, more specifically, a senior credit officer for a large bank. I enjoy what I do, and make a good living doing it. I am very thankful and think about how fortunate I am to no tbe out laying apshalt in July in OK (for example).

Honestly, I think there are many, many people who do not truly have a driving passion to do one specific thing. For those that do and can make it happen? I think that's beautiful. What's really tragic is the person who believes with their entire heart and soul that they want to pursue a specific career or business and pour everything they have into pursuing it and often go deep into debt as well, only to find out that career doesn't fulfill them at all.