ADVERTISEMENT

Question for OSU insiders

Poke81

2nd Team
Gold Member
Jul 16, 2001
What does this program look like in a year or two? I've got little knowledge, just want your thoughts.

By no means am I an insider , but I will give my thoughts. the next few years look really good. The team this year is better than the dual results, I expect it to to be similar to last year. Some discouraging results during dual season, but they peaked at nationals and outperformed most peoples expectations. There is only one senior on this team, Kindig, and Colllica should fill in at 149 next year. I don't foresee much of a drop off if any there. What they decide to do at 57-74 is a mystery to me,but there are a lot of talented kids to fight for spots. It all depends on where AD ends up, but I have renewed excitement in Kyle Crutchmers future. 197 will be interesting to keep an eye on, not sure what has happened to Schafer and reports seem positive for Weigel. The last 2 recruiting classes have been stellar, both ranked second in the country. Add that to the youth that is showing promise on the is team and I expect good things.
Next year we have:
125: Klimara Sr, Piccinnini FR
133: Harding SO, Brock Fr, Olsen Fr
141: Heil So, Lewallen Fr, Dolan So
149: Collica Jr, Schmaker So, Smith?Fr
157: Blees Fr, Smith?, Marstellar? Fr C Rogers?
165: AD Sr, Marsteller?, C Rogers?Fr
174: AD? Crutchmer Jr, Rogers Jr
184 Boyd Jr
197 Schafer jr, Bean jr, Weigel Fr. Marsden? FR
285 Marsden Sr Allen Fr

Looks good to me. I know I have forgotten some, but that is what I remember. Looks like we need some bodies at 184 and 285. I figure Andrew Marsden will eventually move to 285. I for one am really excited for the the future of the program. It will also be interesting what happen with Jacobe Smith and some of these other OK kids coming up. I noticed the Walker Kid from south more is ranked at Hwt by flo. Pretty impressive to be ranked at the big weights as a freshman.