ADVERTISEMENT

Who's the best kid to ever come out of high school in OK?

MiccoMacey

Heisman Candidate
Sep 21, 2002
I'm just talking about as they were coming out of high school. Who were the "can't miss" kids going forward. Future success is irrelevant. Who were the kids that everybody just "knew" would be the next big thing in wrestling, whether they lived up to that billing or not.

I'm not including transplants on this list...those that came for a year or two solely because they were eventually headed to a university nearby.

I'm thinking Daton Fix has to be mentioned up there, along side Kenny Monday, John Smith and others.

Any old timers on this board want to add who those might be? I'd imagine most of the 4x state champs might be mentioned. Although, not all 4x state champs are the same. Even a few 3x state champs (like a Jaworski, maybe) might have had more hype than a 4x'er like Jerry Best.

When I graduated high school (in 1984), I think everyone just knew John Smith was going to be all-world. And he certainly lived up to that moniker. As I think back, my memory is that Midwest City star Keith Walton was just as hyped in most circles. I believe they both graduated in 1983, but both were hyped as future stars.

Care to add to that list?

Daton is a beast
I would say John smith or Kenny

I heard John Ober was up there, rumor has it Smith backed out of a tournament so he wouldn't wrestle Ober. Never saw him wrestle but saw him later in life, a shell of a man now. Sad, already over the hill in his 40's.

I'm not an old timer so my perspective is a little narrow. However, would Teyon Ware be up their for recent years?

I heard John Ober was up there, rumor has it Smith backed out of a tournament so he wouldn't wrestle Ober. Never saw him wrestle but saw him later in life, a shell of a man now. Sad, already over the hill in his 40's.
I'll stop you when you're lying.