ADVERTISEMENT

Thoughts on Reddit stock effects?

Cowpoke

Heisman Winner
Gold Member
May 29, 2001
Is the market going to panic over this, and what will the regulatory actions be? Sending several stocks up by 100-300% in a matter of hours at will is going to get a ton of attention.

Reactions: sbaPoke
.... and did any of you cash in? I only had $120 free in my account this morning so couldn't do any damage. Tossed that in NOK and made about a 70% profit in an hour or so. Meaningless with $100 bucks, but stupidly easy money had anyone had free cash ready to dump into it.

Reactions: theanvil
.... and did any of you cash in? I only had $120 free in my account this morning so couldn't do any damage. Tossed that in NOK and made about a 70% profit in an hour or so. Meaningless with $100 bucks, but stupidly easy money had anyone had free cash ready to dump into it.

It's easy money until it's not. I manage investments for a living and have tried to figure out a way to profit on this craziness without it being a complete gamble. Haven't come up with anything yet. The implied volatility on some of these options is so high right now that the stock has to move by 50% or more for you to break even. And that's with a less than one week time frame. There are people that have made a lot of money in the last few days, but someone is/will be on the other side of all of those trades eventually.

It's easy money until it's not. I manage investments for a living and have tried to figure out a way to profit on this craziness without it being a complete gamble. Haven't come up with anything yet. The implied volatility on some of these options is so high right now that the stock has to move by 50% or more for you to break even. And that's with a less than one week time frame. There are people that have made a lot of money in the last few days, but someone is/will be on the other side of all of those trades eventually.