ADVERTISEMENT

Gallagher Memories

oberebo

Heisman Candidate
Gold Member
Oct 30, 2005
Shawnee,OK
I apologize in advance for the length of this post. This year is my 60th year of watching Cowboy wrestling. I graduated from High School in 1959 from St. Gregory's, a Catholic boarding school in Shawnee. I grew up in Oklahoma City and when I entered OK State in the fall of 1960(after a non-productive year at Central State) I had never seen a wrestling match. One of my friends at East Bennett Hall where I resided told me I needed to go to the Bedlam wrestling match at Gallagher Hall.
The match with OU was sold out and at that time you could only go every other match on your student ID due to the popularity and capacity. I was one of 8,600 fans attending that night which set an attendance record. That was the year the Fire dept. stepped in and stopped floor seating so I believe this record stood for many years. I was wowed by the crowd and the excitement before I ever saw a match. The first match was at 115 pounds as that was the lowest weight