ADVERTISEMENT

Anybody have DirecTV protection plan Premier?

boxter

Heisman Winner
Gold Member
Dec 4, 2002
If so, how did claims go?

About 2 years ago I decided to include the insurance. They say they will cover Tvs, computers, ect. My original Pioneer Elite Plasma is having some issues after 11 years. The picture has a distortion in the middle of the screen about the size of a softball. Im thinking dead pixels but i have no experience with this stuff.

Repair is coming out tuesday. They say they will pay up to $2k on claims each year. Thats less than 1/3 of what this TV cost me back then.. Im wondering how they arrive at the settlement if it can't be fixed?

http://www.directv.com/technology/protection_plan

I've declined the coverage thinking it sounds a bit fishy. Keep us appraised of the outcome.

If so, how did claims go?

About 2 years ago I decided to include the insurance. They say they will cover Tvs, computers, ect. My original Pioneer Elite Plasma is having some issues after 11 years. The picture has a distortion in the middle of the screen about the size of a softball. Im thinking dead pixels but i have no experience with this stuff.

Repair is coming out tuesday. They say they will pay up to $2k on claims each year. Thats less than 1/3 of what this TV cost me back then.. Im wondering how they arrive at the settlement if it can't be fixed?

http://www.directv.com/technology/protection_plan

I just have the basic protection plan, but from what you describe, it sounds like normal "wear and tear" not caused by a power surge or some other accident that insurance typically covers.

when I bought the premium plan the guy said they would either fix any electronics or replace it. I asked if that would cover any reason the TV failed and he said yes.